Iron59 Answers the “50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind”(?)

I’m a sucker for Quora posts, especially the ones that are related to Life Hacks and Self-Improvement. This one post that caught my attention asks:

What are the best questions that will free your mind?

Among the several answers, my top pick was the one that points to 50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind. Upon searching further, I found the original source of the content which is written here. I’m setting aside the attribution problem for the Quora answer. That’s for Quora support to handle. I wrote this blog post to answer each of the 50 questions as briefly as possible. To be honest, I don’t see the effectiveness of some of these questions, but I’ll try it nonetheless. Here it goes:

  1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?
    • 25. I think I reached a new milestone in maturity in this age.
  2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?
    • NEVER TRYING. I hate “What If’s”.
  3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?
    • Probably it’s part of what we do for the living. Life is short. Maybe we don’t want to make it shorter.
    • Perhaps to sacrifice something for the people we care for.
  4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?
    • Nah. I don’t want to consume my time arguing with people who are committed to misunderstand me.
    • ‘Step up and act now’ is what I usually do.
  5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?
    • If there are no limitations? Create a more liberal education system where people can choose what they want to learn and the final examination would be to create a difference or an impact in this world with their acquired knowledge.
  6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?
    • Anything related to game development. Sure it’s stressful at times, but that’s where my passion is.
  7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?
    • Partially trying to do what I believe in. I’m aiming to do it totally, but circumstances has its constraints. Improving it one step at a time. 🙂
  8. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?
    • I’ll have more dates.
    • I’ll be more adventurous in financial investments.
    • I’ll give more time to education.
    • I’ll do less overtime
  9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?
    • Enough to be independent of basic needs and navigate my career track.
    • Brave enough to decide which company to keep.
  10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?
    • 50 / 50. Depending on the situation…. okay maybe 60 / 40 in favor of doing things right because I’m still experimenting a lot on different stuff.
  11. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire. They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend. The criticism is distasteful and unjustified. What do you do?
    • Defend my close friend in the most diplomatic way possible.
  12. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?
    • Learn things as fast as possible. Don’t mind failure. It’s part of learning.
  13. Would you break the law to save a loved one?
    • It depends. If it’s my mom, yes.
  14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?
    • A lot of times. Creative works are fun that way.
  15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?
    • Maximum tolerance on undesirable situations and people.
  16. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?
    • People have different aspirations. We are created that way.
    • People have different contentment.
  17. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?  What’s holding you back?
    • Venture into other investments. Still worried about the risks involved.
  18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?
    • I think there are a bunch of things that I need to let go of. Maybe I’m hesitant because it’s outside of what I’m used to. Will probably figure something out.
  19. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?
    • Japan, probably in Tokyo. Stayed there for three months. Love the people and the place. Plus, I’m surrounded with stuff that are related to my hobbies.
  20. Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?
    • Is this a question about patience? Anyway, no, I push the button only once. If I’m in a rush I’ll take the stairs instead, unless it’s several floors away.
  21. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?
    • Worried genius. Being genius doesn’t mean you’re perpetually sad.
  22. Why are you, you?
    • Upbringing + Experiences + Acquired Knowledge
  23. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?
    • My circles tell me that I’m a positive company, so yeah.
  24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?
    • Losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you. Such instance may have been caused by an undesirable circumstance.
  25. What are you most grateful for?
    • People who care for me
    • Basic needs to live
    • Acquired knowledge and skill
    • The chance to live another day
    • Morals and values that shaped me into a better person
  26. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?
    • Hmm what a tough question. Doesn’t sound like it will free my mind :?. Anyway, never be able to make new ones. Good or bad, I learned a lot from my past experiences.
  27. Is it possible to know the truth without challenging it first?
    • I don’t think so. Not challenging the truth at worst case can lead to impractical and/or unjust tradition as well as false teaching that defies morality.
  28. Has your greatest fear ever come true?
    • No. The thing is, my fear periodically adjusts to something worse than what is likely to happen. Come to think of it, it doesn’t make sense. I need to work this out.
  29. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?
    • 5 years ago… hmmm… Oh yeah I remember something. I don’t care much about it now.
  30. What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?
    • Can’t tell if this is my happiest moment, but maybe when I received this one specific toy. As far as I remember, I rarely receive such toys when I was a child, or to be more specific, not as frequent as my playmates do.
  31. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?
    • When I entered the game development industry.
  32. If not now, then when?
    • Uhmmm tomorrow? Whut? XD
  33. If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?
    • My fear of risks
  34. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?
    • NO. Being with someone and not saying anything at all is totally depressing for me.
  35. Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?
    • I wonder…
  36. Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?
    • If you’re talking about universal good and evil, probably not, but I will stand on my own morality.
  37. If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?
    • Maybe, but not in an instantaneous way. I’ll make sure that everything is ironed out like the turnover process. And I’ll use some of my funds to help the company grow for the better.
  38. Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?
    • More work I actually enjoy doing. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for work-life balance. Just had to make a choice.
  39. Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?
    • ‘Hundred times’ sounds too much. I have my Déjà vu moments.
  40. When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?
    • I haven’t experienced that yet. Maybe because I plan beforehand. I’m not a fan of guesswork when it comes to life choices.
  41. If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?
    • Everyone I care for.
  42. Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?
    • Tempting, but no. I prefer to work hard for fame. As for attractiveness, I’m not that bad hahaha.
  43. What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
    • Being alive is just being born here in this world. Truly living is seeking the reason why you were born.
  44. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?
    • When you need to overcome your fear.
  45. If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?
    • Because some mistakes result to a lot of pain. That’s what we’re afraid of.
  46. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?
    • Openly support stuff which most people consider taboo.
  47. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?
    • When I meditated. Probably two or three weeks ago, which reminds me, I should get back to this habit.
  48. What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?
    • Creative works. It’s where my career currently revolves.
  49. In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?
    • Probably not. Gee, I don’t think anyone does.
  50. Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?
    • I make my own decisions most of the time. There are instances though that they are affected by my present circumstance.

Whew. That took longer than I expected. Did these questions freed my mind? Partially. Some of the questions left me pondering further. Some gave me realizations that I have to act on as early as now. Other questions left me puzzled on its significance. What I’m sure is that somehow I learned more things about myself, especially on my way of thinking. As time consuming as it looks, I suggest you give it a try. ‘Til next time. (~^_^)~

Original source of questions: 50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind by Marc and Angel Hack Life

2 comments on “Iron59 Answers the “50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind”(?)

  1. skysenshi says:

    Oooh, I like this: “If there are no limitations? Create a more liberal education system where people can choose what they want to learn and the final examination would be to create a difference or an impact in this world with their acquired knowledge.”

    Also hahaha, that lunch with people you respect and admire who criticized someone close to you. I’ve defended someone who isn’t even close to me because I thought it was only right to air his side.

    • iron59 says:

      I thought so hehe. You also want an out-of-the-box approach for education.
      As for defending someone, yeah that’s the right thing to do. I guess I’m just more motivated if it’s someone I really know since I know how that person thinks or behaves. Thanks for reading my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

