Some Unexpected Performances from OPM Artists

I’m not quite updated with the latest music videos, but back then (i.e. before I reached the age of 21 *cough* *cough*), I watch MTV, Channel V, and MYX a lot. During those times, there were occasional shocks and awes that I get from some of the music videos that I see as out of character, based on how I know the artist. I can’t say I didn’t enjoy them XD. Here are some of the OPM music videos that surprised me in more ways than one.

Halaga – Parokya ni Edgar

Boy band formation set in a beach, that’s not the first thing that crosses my mind when I think of  Parokya ni Edgar. Released in 1999 under album Gulong Itlog Gulong, this song became famous not only because of the appealing lyrics but also because of the dance moves that were associated with it. There were more unorthodox performances that came after this, but the music video showed how far the band’s wise antics can bring them. Everything else was less unexpected.

Doobidoo – Kamikazee

From a band with equally crazy antics as Parokya ni Edgar, Kamikazee made their own rendition of Doobidoo, originally popularized by the APO Hiking Society. I remember during one of their live performances, Gim Paredes was shocked when he heard the scream after the first line of the song. That moment was priceless (lol). Just when I thought the cover was surprising, the music video was insane to say the least, but it’s the entertaining type of insanity. Yeah, Indian theme for the win! (lol)

Limang Dipang Tao – Barbie’s Cradle

I know Barbie’s Cradle with their feel good and soothing melodies like Torpe and Tabing Ilog. However, I was surprised to see this jumpy music video of their own version of Limang Dipang Tao, a song composed by Ryan Cayabyab. I never thought that Barbie Almalbis could pull off ballet and sharona dance moves. This is probably her cutest performance ever! (*_*) Sorry, I got carried away. Just see the video so you’ll know what I mean.

Well, I guess that’s my top three. Anything else I can think of has not much of an impact. Besides, I posted something about Barbie, so I’m happy already (hahaha spare my fanboy side XD). Anything I missed? Please post in the comments section. I would love to see more surprising music videos. (~^_^)~

Leave a Reply

