Iron59’s NBI Clearance Adventures

Last May 14, I applied for an NBI clearance as part of my requirements for my part-time teaching job. Prior to that date, I successfully booked my application online, so what I’m supposed to do is just go straight to the Biometrics for record input and then wait for my clearance to be printed (Btw, I chose Robinsons Galleria as the satellite station). Easy right? No. Not in my case. I’m a RA7687 DOST scholar, and part of the bond of that scholarship is to render years of service under Philippine-based companies equivalent to the number of years that I’ve benefited from the program (so that’s 4 years for me).  I can’t work outside the country until my bond has been cleared. With this, the NBI will monitor my status and conduct an interview for verification. So guess what. I got a hit, and I have an appointment on May 27 to claim my clearance. That’s 13 days from the day of my application. I’m frustrated that it takes that long, but it’s not my first time to experience that, so I moved on and waited for that day to arrive.

Tip: As you can see, even though I’m just applying for local employment, I still got a hit. Same goes for you if you’re a DOST Scholar. Moreover, even if you’re already cleared with your bond (I am), you still have to give a copy of the clearance letters to NBI and DFA (No, I haven’t done that until now).


>>> Fast Forward: May 27 – 9:15 AM, Barangay 137 Barangay Hall

Before going back to Robinsons, I applied for a Barangay Clearance and guess what. I got it under ten minutes. Man, I wish the NBI clearance was as easy as that!

Barangay Clearance Baby!

Barangay Clearance Baby!


>>> Fast Forward: May 27 – 10:10 AM, Robinsons Galleria NBI Satellite Station

I passed my receipt to the counter for releasing. This is exciting. I’ll finally get my clearance and then proceed to school to complete my requirements. Wait for it! Wait for it!

NBI Staff: Sir, kailangan niyong pumunta sa NBI Main for interview.
[Sir, you need to go to NBI Main for an interview]


>>> Fast Forward: May 27 – 11:15 AM, Robinsons Galleria NBI Satellite Station

I just checked the directions, ate my lunch, then off I go. Since I’m in a rush to catch up with the school’s schedule, I just rode a taxi to Monumento station. Then this happened…

Taxi Driver: Bakit ka mag-LRT?
[Why take the LRT?]

Me: *Confused Face*

Taxi Driver: Mangingitim ka.
[Your skin will be darker]

Me: *Laughs* (Sounds like a joke, but I don’t get it)

Taxi Driver: Kasi dadaloy yung kuryente sa riles, papunta sa gulong, tapos diretso sa pasahero. Paglabas niyo, maitim na kayo.
[Because electricity is flowing in the rail tracks, then it will travel through the wheels, then straight to the passengers. By the time you get out, your skin will be darker.]

Me: *Laughs* (I wish I didn’t get the joke)

Taxi Driver: *Points at Sarah G’s Chickenjoy billboard* Yang babaeng yan, kain ng kain ng manok, may buni na yan.
[That woman eats chicken so much, she already has ringworm]

Me: *Laughs* (Are we there yet?)

Finally reached the station.

Taxi Driver: Pagbaba mo, yakapin mo yung babaeng yun o.
[Hug that woman when you get off the car]

Wow, he managed to crack one more joke before I got off. Good thing the travel time was not that long.


>>> Fast Forward: May 27 – 1:00 PM, Taft Ave. NBI New Building

In the Quality Control Area, I just followed the instructions to write my full name on the back of the receipt then leave it in the box for processing. I find this a very flawed process since putting your receipt ahead of others will reward you with later processing since others receipts will pile up on top of your own. Makes sense?  Anyway, it’s fortunate that  we’re only a few applicants at that moment. After about ten minutes, my name was called, so I went inside the interview room.

NBI Interviewer: DOST Scholar ka?
[Are you a DOST Scholar?]

Me: Opo
[Yes]

NBI Interviewer: Anong course mo?
[What’s your course?]

Me: Computer Science po.

NBI Interviewer: Cleared ka na ba?
[Are you cleared already?]

Me: Opo. *Gives the clearance letter*
[Yes *Gives the clearance letter*]

NBI Interviewer: *Looks at the clearance letter*

Me: Di na po ba ako magkaka-hit pagkasubmit ko sa inyo niyan?
[Does that mean I won’t get a hit anymore after submitting that?]

NBI Interviewer: Pwede pa rin.
[There’s still a chance]

NBI Interviewer: Naiipon kasi yung mga records, kaya inaabot ng taon bago ma process.
[The records get piled up, so it takes years to process]

Me: Ah ganun po ba?
[Is that so?]

NBI Interviewer: 1:45, pwede mo nang kunin yung clearance mo.
[You can get your clearance by 1:45 PM]

Tip: Whatever type of government documents you’re applying for, NEVER forget to bring a pen. One woman near me borrowed a pen from another stranger and more than the pen, she received a sermon XD.

Tip: After placing your receipt in the box and it was collected for processing, be patient and wait for your name to be called. Bothering the collector will just make her grumpy and make things more inconvenient to other applicants. So please do yourself and the other applicants a favor.

That’s it. That 2-minute conversation was 13 days in the making. Haha, just kidding. The hundreds of  applicants who got a hit and the time it takes to find my records might have led me to these several days of waiting. And so after 30 minutes…


>>> Fast Forward: May 27 – 1:45 PM, Taft Ave. NBI New Building

It can't get more satisfying than this!

It can’t get more satisfying than this!

THE END (~^_^)~

13 comments on “Iron59’s NBI Clearance Adventures

  1. Bea says:

    Panalo si Manong Taxi Driver. LOL.

  2. John says:

    hi ano po ung clearance letter na pinakita nyo sa naginterview sa nbi? un na po ba ung mismong nbi clearance?

    • iron59 says:

      Nope. It’s a clearance letter from DOST that serves as a proof that you’ve already completed the required local service equal to the number of years that you enjoyed the scholarship. Applicable ito for DOST scholars. Kinukuha siya sa main office ng DOST sa Bicutan 🙂

      • John says:

        ahh. eh ako po kasi first time nag apply ng nbi clearance for local employment. fresh grad po ako and its my first job. may hit po ung nbi ko and babalik ako sa friday. i think di naman kelangan nung clearance since local employment lang.

      • iron59 says:

        Ah depende kasi sa reason kung bakit ka may hit. Pwedeng may kapangalan kang may kaso or may kulang sa records or something like that. Nagkataon lang sa case ko, it’s about my DOST scholarship.

      • Dont be deceived says:

        dost scholar din po ako eh. di naman sinabi sakin kung about sa scholarship ung hit ko

      • iron59 says:

        Ah mataas ang chance na yun nga ang reason. Pero since new grad ka, di ka pa cleared. Iveverify lang nila kung tapos ka na ba sa service requirement mo. Wala pang 5 minutes yang interview mo. Ipapaclaim din sa yo yung clearance mo afterwards.

  3. Igi Santos says:

    To secure your final clearance, call (02)837-1333 for information.
    First requirement, a letter to the DOST-SEI Director requesting for a final clearance.
    Once you receive your final clearance documents, I went out and supply these govt agencies copies of the clearance.
    To share my experience (Jan. 2015) here are some updated tips:
    1) At NBI main (UN and Taft Avenue), proceed to Visitor’s entrance and tell the guard that you need to go to GSD (general services division) to submit a DOST scholarship document. DON’T ever mention the word “clearance”, this is their trigger word to direct you to the NBI clearance center. Once they give you a visitor’s pass (bring a govt ID with you), they will direct you to go to the 3rd floor where the GSD office can be found.
    2) At the DFA new building (ASEANA complex near MOA), go to gate 3. Then go to Door 5. Then go to Passport division. Tell the guard to direct you to the receiving staff for DOST clearance submission.
    3) For DFA and NBI, make sure you acquire a stamped “received” copy from the receiving staff. This is your only proof that you already submitted the final clearance to these agencies. Do not forget to bring at least 2 government issued IDs with you.
    There is no need to submit your clearance to Bureau of Immigration. Just to be sure (if asked by the Immigration officer), bring your clearance documents when going out of the country.
    Good luck!

  4. LrAk says:

    Sir Felix, kelangan ba talaga bumalik ng NBI satellite (Robs Galle in your case) after ilang days? Hindi ba pwedeng dumeretso ng NBI taft kahit kinabukasan agad?

    • iron59 says:

      Di ko sure a, pero tingin ko kailangan mo talaga bumalik sa itinakdang petsa, kasi pagkakaintindi ko, mahabang pila ang mga may hit sa application, so dinadagdag ka lang nila sa queue. Saka chinecheck nila yung sched mo. Pag nakita nila na pumunta ka na di tapat sa sched nab inigay sayo, pabalikin ka lang. Again, di ko sure to, just my two cents.

      • LrAk says:

        Oks sir. Try ko na lang din pumunta ngaun. Then try ko yung tip ni sir Igi. I’ll post here whatever will happen 🙂

Leave a Reply

